Prizes & Awards

Prizes & Awards

European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division Hannes Alfvén Prize

The Hannes Alfvén Prize of the European Physical Society for Outstanding Contributions to Plasma Physics , established in 2000, is awarded each year at the EPS Conference on Plasma Physics for pioneering work in experimental or theoretical plasma physics, which has shaped the field or is expected to do so in future.

We congratulate the 2018 prize winner Prof. Tony Bell from the Oxford University for his work.

Plasma Physics Innovation Prize

The 2018 EPS Plasma Physics Innovation Prize is awarded to  Prof. Arutiun Ehiasarian of Sheffield Hallam University in the United Kingdom. He will present his plenary talk "High power impulse magnetron sputtering - the age of adolescence".

PPCF Dendy Europe-Asia Pacific Award for Outstanding Research Collaboration in Plasma Physics

The PPCF Dendy Europe-Asia Pacific Award , established in 2018, is awarded to

  • Dr Hajime Urano, National Institutes for Quantum Radiological Science and Technology, Japan;
  • Dr Costanza Maggi, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, UK;
  • Professor Ohjin Kwon, Daegu University, Republic of Korea;
  • Dr Samuli Saarelma, Culham Centre for Fusion Energy, UK.

Ph.D. Thesis Prizes

The EPS Plasma Physics Division Board has pleasure in announcing four winners of its 2018  PhD Research Award .

The winners will present their lectures during the conference in Prague:

  • Matteo Falessi of Roma Tre University, for his thesis on "Gyrokinetic theory for particle transport in fusion plasmas", supervised by Fulvio Zonca; 
  • Jack Hare of Imperial College London, for his thesis on "High energy density magnetic reconnection experiments in colliding carbon plasma flows", supervised by Sergey Lebedev;
  • Adrien Leblanc of the University of Paris-Saclay, for his thesis on "Plasma mirrors and plasma gratings under ultra-intense laser illumination: high-order harmonic generation, and relativistic electron beams", supervised by François Amiranoff;
  • Wei Zhang of Ghent University, for his thesis on "Plasma edge modeling with ICRF coupling", supervised by Jean-Marie Noterdaeme.

EPS/PPCF poster prize

Call for entries for the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP poster prize

To enter please send to

  • your name
  • poster title and number
  • and the day that you are presenting your poster

Up to four €150 vouchers will be awarded to the best posters.
The competition is only open to PhD students.
The deadline for submissions is June 25, 2018.

Itoh Project Prize

One lucky PhD student at this year’s European Physical Society (EPS) Conference on Plasma Physics in Prague will win an expenses paid visit to Japan.

This is the eleventh time that Professor Sanae-I. Itoh, in agreement with the conference organizers, has offered the ‘Itoh Project Prize’ to students presenting a poster (subject of which is on turbulence, transport, confinement, or on related issues) at the conference. The winner gets the chance to visit Kyushu University, Japan, for one week, including flights and living expenses.

To be considered for this excellent prize you must be a PhD student presenting a poster at the EPS conference in Prague. During the conference you will be allocated a time slot to be interviewed and the winner will be announced at the end of the conference and on the Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (PPCF) website. The administration of this award is being facilitated in part by PPCF, of which Professor Itoh is on the International Advisory Panel.

To enter your poster in the running for the Itoh Project Prize 2018, simply send an e-mail to by June 25, 2018 with ‘Itoh Project Prize’ in the subject line. Please include your name, your poster number, the day and time you are presenting your poster, plus the abstract and you will be sent an appointment to meet with Professor Itoh, or one of the other judges, during the conference. All appointments will also be listed at the PPCF exhibition table at the conference.